SUSS Award for Teaching Excellence

SUSS Award for Teaching Excellence

1. Background

Since 2012, a Teaching Awards policy was instituted to recognise excellent teaching practices of Associate Faculty members (AFs). In 2019, the SUSS Teaching and Learning (T&L) Committee approved an updated policy applicable to both AFs and full-time Faculty. This policy will be implemented from January 2020, and will supersede the existing policy, with award recipients being recognised at the Faculty Appreciation Dinner (FAD) 2020 and beyond.

2. Eligibility Criteria

Both AFs and full-time Faculty will be eligible to be considered for the SUSS Award for Teaching Excellence (hereafter also termed “Teaching Award” in this page). External vendors will also be considered for the Teaching Award if they have undertaken the required training established for AFs. The following must be fulfilled for a staff to be eligible for the Teaching Award:

  1. Candidate must have taught for at least two semesters in the last two years;
  2. Candidate must have a weighted average eCE score of 4.3 (out of 5) calculated across the two calendar years.

The list of eligible staff is further filtered to exclude the past award (either Teaching Excellence Awards (TEAs), or Teaching Merit Awards (TMAs)) recipients, namely those who are in the 2-year rest period, or who have met the awards quota.

3. Changes in Teaching Awards Nomination and Selection Process

The updated nomination and selection process requires shortlisted candidates to submit a two-page teaching narrative (see Annex A) to TLC, after they have been invited to do so via email. The self-nomination component is mandatory for shortlisted candidates to be considered for the Teaching Award. The narratives will be judged by a peer panel1 using adaptive comparative judgement (ACJ). TLC will then apply the minimum judging threshold and allot the number of awards assigned to each School/Centre.

4. Number of Awards per School/Centre and Quantum of Awards

The number of awards is computed based on a 1:70 award to staff ratio with a minimum of 1 award per School / Centre.

The Teaching Award will comprise a certificate and a cash prize of $1,500. The former will be presented to recipients at the annual Faculty Appreciation Dinner (FAD) held in April, while the cash quantum will be credited to their bank accounts within 30 days from the FAD. SUSS will also publicly acknowledge the award recipients by announcing them on TLC’s website, under the section - SUSS Award for Teaching Excellence.

5. Responsibilities of Award Recipients

Recipients of the Teaching Awards will be invited to:

  1. make a presentation to share their good teaching practices with other AFs and Faculty;
  2. contribute an article to, or be interviewed and featured in TLC’s publications and news; and
  3. conduct a workshop at TLC’s symposium and/or conference.

Teaching Award recipients may also be:

  1. featured in SUSS / Schools’ / Centres’ promotional materials, which may include video interviews;
  2. invited to be part of the peer judging panel for future teaching awards selection.

1The peer panel comprises Deans, Directors of Centres with teaching faculty, TLC faculty, and selected Professors and Associate Professors.